AuthorTopic: Atari 2600 RPG mockup  (Read 11991 times)

Offline Helm

• View Profile
    • Asides-Bsides

Re: Atari 2600 RPG mockup

Reply #20 on: March 13, 2012, 05:08:19 pm
I'm not sure about how the rasterline color limitations work yet so this could be out of spec, but the critique stands. READABILITY. Detail is secondary. Consider symbolizing more.

Offline HughSpectrum

• View Profile

Reply #21 on: March 14, 2012, 01:56:31 pm
I am not good at drawing fires admittedly.

I ended up removing the light hitting the ground and removing a lot of the light hitting the rocks.

There was more I wanted to do before posting this change, but I am not sure I'll get around to it today.

Offline BladeJunker

• Know your limits, then break them.
    • View Profile

Reply #22 on: March 14, 2012, 08:17:21 pm
I'm not sure about how the rasterline color limitations work yet so this could be out of spec, but the critique stands. READABILITY. Detail is secondary. Consider symbolizing more.

Took a closer look and for the most part this is within limitations except 2 lines at the bottom of the flame that have 2 colors occurring on one scanline. Missile line segments set to the appropriate color and width could fill these exceptions but its a lot of code for something so small and I assume you're not that attached it based on the majority of the image. Otherwise your camp fire graphic is very nice, captures that iconic symbol recognition style very well. :)
« Last Edit: March 16, 2012, 08:36:04 pm by BladeJunker »

Offline infinitegames

• View Profile

Reply #23 on: March 15, 2012, 07:06:46 pm
I am not good at drawing fires admittedly.

I ended up removing the light hitting the ground and removing a lot of the light hitting the rocks.

There was more I wanted to do before posting this change, but I am not sure I'll get around to it today.

Your fires are pretty hard to read. I suggest looking at the above edit. It's definitely easier to tell that it's a fire.

Offline HughSpectrum