AuthorTopic: Making our first game. Character Sprite. C+C Please?  (Read 4282 times)

Offline Arendule

• View Profile

These are my standing and walking frames. There are only two because of the amount of animations there is going to be. I think we could bump it to three if that would help improve visuals. I'm completely new to Pixel Art and these along with 20 others were made in under 12 hours. They are almost place holders for more detail to come.

What I'm looking for:
1. How my AA is currently and how I can improve.
2. Adding colors or removing colors.
3. Sel-out on lighted areas; would that make it look more slime-y?
4. My shading is terrible, how can I improve?

I've hit the limit of my practicing I think. I've been looking for references and tutorials on Shading and such but I can't understand x.x.
I think someone showing me on something I've made would help.

Thanks in advance,
Devin

*EDIT*

Thanks so much for the feedback! I didn't think I would get so much so fast :). I see how the slime will be a difficult starting point due to the lighting. I'll definitely have a look at those nice slimes you made for a reference when I feel like I can do something like that. I have actually skimmed through that tutorial. I should re-read it and see what I can get from it, thanks :). Some lighting I think I did right might be this Platform I made:

I think practice is still something I should be working on xD. Does anyone have a good reference image for lighting? Or even an object or something that would give a good feel for me to pixel? Maybe I should just get to it :P.

Thanks guys!
« Last Edit: March 28, 2012, 02:42:50 am by Arendule »

Offline Cyangmou

• cyangmou
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/32234.htm
    • cyangmou
    • View Profile
    • Pixwerk Homepage

Re: Making our first game. Character Sprite. C+C Please?

Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 10:37:32 pm
Hello Devin,