AuthorTopic: [WIP] I need help with my mage  (Read 3708 times)

Offline dman

• View Profile

[WIP] I need help with my mage

on: March 03, 2012, 03:09:00 am
Hi, I'm kind of new at pixel art and i need help with my mage for my RPG any tips?

Offline ScaryPotato

• Astral Entry
    • View Profile
    • The Adventure Apes

Re: [WIP] I need help with my mage

Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 07:13:48 pm
Hi dman, welcome to the site!

I think the simplistic style you have could be really charming, but right now it feels pretty flat with the shading and colours. It would look good as-is if the game took place in a misty or foggy environment, but otherwise could use a little more contrast to help define things a bit.

I did a quick little example here:

Basically all I did was change the highlights to something a little more saturated and towards the yellow end of things, and played with some variety in the skin. Hope it helps!
« Last Edit: March 03, 2012, 07:32:52 pm by ScaryPotato »

Offline dman

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 03, 2012, 10:16:17 pm
Thanks so much ScaryPotato i did what you said and added more contrast

Any tips on the environment? I want it to be sorta dark like its night and with glowing plants everywhere like on james camerons avatar.

Offline ScaryPotato

• Astral Entry
    • View Profile
    • The Adventure Apes

Reply #3 on: March 05, 2012, 02:20:55 pm
Weird, the links to your images aren't showing up for me anymore. If you're thinking of having a glowy environment, the thing to think about then would be the colour given off by whatever it is that's glowing. If the rest of the environment is fairly dark, your highlights should reflect the glowy stuff. Would be kind of cool to have little fireflies or something lighting areas up!

Offline dman

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: March 05, 2012, 07:43:15 pm
Idk why the links stopped working but here is the link to the mage again