AuthorTopic: [WIP] Action-platformer sprites from a complete beginner  (Read 15035 times)

Offline BowTieDaddy

• View Profile
Hey guys!  I'm completely new to spriting (save a little experience doing doofy recolors and stuff almost a decade ago) and I'm looking to improve.  I've read some tutorials and tried some stuff on, so I'd really like to hear any feedback you guys have!

I've been doing a lot of experimenting, and have two products in a state that I can even remotely show:

(goofed on the transparency here, but I'm having image uploading problems so I can't fix it at the moment)

Tell me what you think.  Thanks, everyone!

Offline rikfuzz

• View Profile
    • twitter @hot_pengu

Re: [WIP] Action-platformer sprites from a complete beginner

Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 07:53:30 am
They're pretty huge!  Would fill most of the entire screen of Ghouls and Ghosts/Goblins (whch may be of useful reference):

http://arcade.svatopluk.com/capcom/ghouls_n_ghosts/

If I were you, I'd cut them in half (at least). It's going to be pretty tough working at this size..

Offline BowTieDaddy

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: February 28, 2012, 02:39:44 pm
That's actually a question/problem I had that I couldn't really find answers to anywhere - I'm honestly not completely solid on the relationship between character-size and screen size.  As this game would be running on a computer, wouldn't the resolution be a lot bigger, which in turn would mean that bigger sprites would be acceptable?  I don't mean to be contrary, I honestly don't know and I'm just trying to figure things out.

Offline Phlakes

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: February 28, 2012, 03:13:15 pm
You don't want to fill the whole screen when you're doing pixel art. That would be either crazy or really, really time consuming.

Set the size you want it to be, 320x240 is one of the most manageable, and you can even scale it later if you want.

Offline BowTieDaddy

• View Profile