AuthorTopic: [C&C] Basic Platforming Handyman  (Read 3324 times)

Offline bigjimbeef

• View Profile

[C&C] Basic Platforming Handyman

on: February 15, 2012, 01:20:24 pm
Howdy folks,

I'm new here, so just a quick bit of background about me. I'm a games coder by trade, and am also working on a game in my spare time with some friends. I'm an ok artist, but I'm really interested in getting better. I've been reading pixel art tutorials and doing a little practice for a while now, but I'm finding I tend to hit a point with all the sprites I create.

Case in point, this guy here:

So the idea is that he's the main character sprite for a 2D platformer we're working on at the minute. He will be presented on the screen at 2x zoom (aiming for an overtly retro kind of look). I'm quite happy with how he's turned out personally (I know it's not exactly amazing, but it's a personal thing!), but the problem I have is that I've reached this sort of stage with a bunch of sprites. I know that there's something a bit amiss, but I can't quite work out what!

If anyone could help me out with a bit of C&C, that would be really very helpful. I'm just not quite sure where to go from here.

Thanks very much!

Offline michelcote

• View Profile

Re: [C&C] Basic Platforming Handyman

Reply #1 on: February 15, 2012, 04:04:05 pm
Cool design idea! I think the lack of contrast and hue shifting in your color ramps hurts the character, especially in the skin tones. It's hard to notice the highlight on his head and in the mustache and hair, for example.
Also try to manage your palette better, there are some pixels in the face for example that change color very slightly and is near impossible to detect anyway. Stick to 3-4 colors per ramp to kind of unify your sprite.

A rough edit, only on the head to get my ideas across. I resized to make it easier to work with, and you can zoom in/out by click/shift-clicking images here.

Offline bigjimbeef

• View Profile