AuthorTopic: Game tiles  (Read 13372 times)

Offline Lilyo

• View Profile

Game tiles

on: February 01, 2012, 03:52:59 am
So i'm relatively new to pixel art (only started like 5-6 months ago) but I thought I'd be interesting to post some of my work here and get some feedback and tips.

All these textures were made for Minecraft cause it's a relatively easy environment to work with but they can obviously be transfered over and used as tiles for 2D sidescrollers.
I'm working on some 32x32 pixel textures (7 colors each I think) right now with a friend, so I'll be posting more work from this project soon.

WIP cobblestone

stone

wood

(The bellow cobblestone is made by him)

I've also got some work from another project I've been working on by myself. 16x16, 5 colors each.

And I tried to make a mockup of the dirt to see how it would look like as a 2D sidescroller. I'll be doing more work and concepts with this probably.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2012, 10:21:38 pm by Lilyo »

Offline nornagon

• View Profile

Re: Game tiles

Reply #1 on: February 01, 2012, 05:10:54 am
The dirt tile is really repetitive -- add another dirt tile and use the two of them randomly. This will help you break up the grid look.

Also, the 'inside' tiles aren't different enough from the 'outside' tiles, I think.

Otherwise looks awesome, good work!

Offline StarRaven

• Threadkiller
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: February 01, 2012, 05:27:21 am
They're looking pretty good! I like the 16x16 tiles, especially. I'd really like to see them at a normal zoom, though. You don't have to scale them up! We can zoom in just by clicking on the pictures in the forum. :3

No crits here; just keep up the good work!

Offline Lilyo

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: February 02, 2012, 04:54:35 pm
Thanks^

Also

Offline imnumberfour

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: February 02, 2012, 08:27:51 pm
Lilyo! Remember me from the MCforums?