AuthorTopic: GR#087 - Grass  (Read 10853 times)

Offline BetaMan12

• Never Quit
    • View Profile

GR#087 - Grass

on: January 15, 2012, 10:15:47 pm
hey guys im new to the game and I wanted to get some tips...on how i can make a better grass

Offline bengo

• https://pixeljoint.com/p/5787.htm
    • View Profile

Re: Grass Attempt

Reply #1 on: January 15, 2012, 11:47:32 pm
Let's be for real here:
There's no contrast so it just looks like a block of green (unless you zoom in, even then)
You've chosen to render the grass in V/U shapes; I assume these are meant to be tiles so it doesn't blend in well, and besides the green it doesn't remind me of grass

You should go look up some tiles from various SNES/GBA games, particularly RPGs like Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy 6, Legend of Zelda, etc. to get a better idea of how they tackled pixelling grass. Also look at how grass is in real life, pay attention to how light affects it, etc. I think the former would be better for you at the moment, though.

You seem new to pixel art so here's some tutorials:
http://www.natomic.com/hosted/marks/mpat/
http://www.petesqbsite.com/sections/tutorials/tuts/tsugumo/default.htm <- This one even tackles the grass tile

Offline nornagon

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: January 19, 2012, 09:06:37 pm
This grass tile tutorial by st0ven really helped me, as did referencing the grass from Seiken Densetsu 3 (for the SNES):

Offline st0ven

• View Profile
    • spriteart

Reply #3 on: January 19, 2012, 09:53:12 pm
ehhh - again feel obligated to respond after an old tutorial link.

Basically theres as many different ways to represent grass as you can think of representing it. certain things work better than others. certain methods are more popular than others. finding a style that will work for you will certainly help you out much better than trying to emulate someone elses method of doing something.