AuthorTopic: [WIP] Pixel-art videoclip project (C+C)  (Read 16037 times)

Offline mattib

• View Profile

[WIP] Pixel-art videoclip project (C+C)

on: November 12, 2011, 03:14:28 pm
Hi guys, I'm totally new to pixel-art. I'm a flash animator, so I've always worked with vector graphics.
A friend of mine asked me to do a videoclip of a song from the album he recorded with his band. My idea was to make a videogame-style animation (mainly in the style of sidescrolling fighting games like "TMNT: The Hyperstone Heist"). The project should be an affectionate parody of old gaming, so elements of different styles will be borrowed (martial arts moves, explosions etc). However, is a couple of months I'm trying to get the handle of this art, reading tutorials, studying the classics and stuff. I'm finding it really funny and interesting and the latest experiment came out quite good so I'd like you guys to tell me what to improve, what to change etc.

This guy is a Shaolin Monk that I plan to put in the video as an enemy, but this single sprite will probably not find place in it: while I'm quite satisfied I think I need to exercise more and I want you to tell me on what should I work to improve. Thanks.
I've been inspired for the stance from a pic that I found online, but it was made totally from scratch with pencil on paper and then scanned and pixelated

« Last Edit: November 16, 2011, 01:11:51 pm by mattib »

Offline mattib

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] Pixel-art videoclip project.

Reply #1 on: November 15, 2011, 10:56:32 pm
uhm....well I'll try with some other sprites that i drew directly on my computer.
This one for example, I really don't like it very much...those should be some background mountains to be tiled. If you tile them they probably still don't match exactly, but that's not the point, I'd really like some suggestions on the art. Thank you

Offline jams0988

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: November 16, 2011, 12:31:41 am