AuthorTopic: Help with a floating rock  (Read 2119 times)

Offline erephy

• View Profile

Help with a floating rock

on: October 31, 2011, 08:53:51 pm
Hi guys;

I am pretty new at pixel art and whatever I try, I can't do a ground tile (as you can see below). Can someone explain me what I am doing wrong and is there any techniques to do things like that?

Offline Phlakes

• View Profile

Re: Help with a floating rock

Reply #1 on: November 01, 2011, 12:10:43 am
Alright, I'm not an expert like the rest of these guys but I'll see what I can do.

First, like all shading, define your light source. It looks like this one is to the right and a bit down? That's a strange choice, but it could work. But, the top of the lower section has some of the darkest shade outlining it, while the top is all midtones with almost no shading at all. Consistency is very important, and you should probably consider an upper light source.

Now, the amount of colors in that sprite is ridiculous. I don't know if you used some kind of tool to antialias it or something, but I came across over 20 colors looking through it, and I only looked closely at part of the bottom.

For pixel art, you want to limit your palette, probably no more than 8 colors for a sprite this size. And right now, don't get into antialiasing, that's something you need quite a bit of experience for.

Pay close attention to the form of the object when you shade. You have huge fields of the lightest color that have no texture or detail, and the rest of the shading is flat and simple. Also, following the outline is not following the form. It creates banding and pillow shading, and instead of explaining that here I'll segway into my recommendation for reading this tutorial. It's one of the best I've seen and covers pretty much covers all the basics. It does still go over some more advanced techniques, so just ignore those for now.