AuthorTopic: Platformer Sprites [WIP]  (Read 2825 times)

Offline Felix20

• Precisely
    • View Profile

Platformer Sprites [WIP]

on: September 02, 2011, 06:33:44 pm
This is my first post here.
I'm just learning how to do pixel art, I'm making graphics for a platformer game that I'm making
I'm basically just trying out different things to see what works good.
Some sprites I made:

A mockup of what a the game will look like:

The world is round, so the silhouettes in the background are actually part of the level, you just have to keep going to get to them.

Offline RedKnight91

• View Profile

Re: Platformer Sprites [WIP]

Reply #1 on: September 03, 2011, 12:28:35 am
WOAH! There's really a lot to say here.

Let's start with the characters: you've got plenty of imaginations, and I love that octopus one, BUT:

1st character: this one is too simple, it's made of a square and a rectangle! That won't do it. How does he move?
2nd character: the best one, but it's not clear what those stripes on his head are
3rd character: original but kinda hard to understand: is that a fin on his head? Does he have a cape and a mask? He has no feet too, how does he move?
4rd character: to be the main character he needs more detail, people want to know how the main character looks like, and a silouette isn't good.

Concerning style:

- The characters look FLAT! The 3rd one is okay-ish, but the first two look like they're paper-thin, that's no good.
- You don't seems to have a clear lightsource, or if you have one you used it the wrong way, especially on the 3rd character.
- Maybe you don't want to use Anti-Aliasing too much (do you know what it is? here is a topic about it http://www.wayofthepixel.net/pixelation/index.php?topic=10051.0 ), but at least you should use good shapes. The head of the octopus should be rounded more, and for the head of the 3rd chara you could have used a circle, instead you used a weird circle-oval.. Don't even get me started on that block-sheep!