AuthorTopic: GR#070 - Rath Character Design  (Read 14325 times)

Offline reticle2020

• "Do or do not, there is no try"
    • View Profile

GR#070 - Rath Character Design

on: August 26, 2011, 04:37:21 am
Hi all,

So my name is reticle2020 and I'm fairly new to pixel/sprite art.  I, like many, decided to learn the art of the pixel in order to create my own game graphics.  So here I am with all you lovely people.  I decided to start with a simple character which will, hopefully, be the main character for my upcoming game.  I've decided to upload the images in the order that I drew them, a sort of "time lapse" I guess, so that if I make any mistakes you'll be able to tell me at what point I should have changed something...blah blah.

I should mention that the game is a side scrolling platformer, similar to Mega Man or Castlevania and this is a very early concept.  Additionally this piece is 100% original drawn from scratch.

Any and all crits welcome!!!

1) I wanted to start by drawing a outline of the character but found that I was loosing the shape I wanted it always looked lopsided and weird.  Instead I started by roughing out the general shape I wanted and then fine tuning it, this created a sort of silhouette of the character.

2) Next I began outlining the character with a dark brown and then proceeded to fill in the skin...and I made some eyes, which I'm not completely satisfied with.  I shaded this part even though I didn't really need to but because parts of the character would not be completely covered with clothing I figured it was best to just shade the whole darn thing :P

3) Next I began outlining some general clothes for the character, a shirt, pants and some shoes.  And again shaded them in to complete the look.  This is the part of the process I have the most trouble with...Shading that is!  I think it turned out decently enough but it can certainly use some improvement.