AuthorTopic: Platfrmer mockup  (Read 3879 times)

Offline Bahototh

• @ThompFinholm
    • View Profile
    • Pixel Gehennom

Platfrmer mockup

on: July 07, 2011, 07:33:19 pm
Hi everybody,

I'm working on a platformer with smaller tiles and characters. C + C would be really helpful.
The player character is a guy in a red robe, and there's some nemies with green robes.
This game will (hopefully) have sort of a vatican esoteric theme.

I want to keep the graphics simple, because I'm not very experienced, and I would like
some random generated levels.

Here goes:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
-----------------------------------------------------
An artist cannot fail; it is a success to be one. ~Charles Horton Cooley
---------------------------------------------------
Working on:[Thy Sword]

Offline Decroded

• Oh hai
    • View Profile

Re: Platfrmer mockup

Reply #1 on: July 08, 2011, 12:55:36 pm
I think this is a great start and shows some good principles.
There are definitely things to improve.
Most urgent is u need to add some colour to the rocks, you don't want loads of saturation or it will be distracting from the sprites but plain grey is horrible...
 What are the blueish squares the bottom about?

Offline Mathias

• Goodbye.
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/9542.htm
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: July 08, 2011, 03:58:08 pm
He's using the C64 pal. Not a lot of options for adding color to those rocks.

Can't say I'm getting a "vatican" vibe from this, at all. More like ancient Rome.

You need more posh gothic architectural elements, and less rough generic medieval.

Better make this the torture catacombs dungeon level (which we all know really exists) underneath the cathedral level.

But, nice work. If your protagonist is the red garment guy I think he should pop more than the green guys.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2011, 04:00:35 pm by Mathias »

Offline ptoing

• variegated quadrangle arranger
    • the_ptoing
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/2191.htm
    • View Profile