AuthorTopic: I'm still obsessed with ponies. C+C  (Read 6438 times)

Offline Dessa

• View Profile

I'm still obsessed with ponies. C+C

on: April 17, 2011, 09:44:45 am

Colored Lineart -------> Shaded ---> Shaded /w gradients-----> Background added.

Source image by a friend of mine.  We codesigned her

I'm considering this complete.  The background on the 4th one is a bit of a mess (This is my first time working with gradients, and the BG proved to be more than I can handle at this point  I'll probably go study that Dithering thread in the resources here after this), but I'm still open to hear what people have to say.  I can't seem to ever consider a project complete, and I might go back to make it better.

16 colors (one transparent).  That pink in the mouth is only used once, but it's right at a focal point.  Considering saturating it more just to make it pop.

Now that I'm about to post it, I see numerous little things I'd change.  Meh.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2011, 09:46:58 am by Dessa »

Offline robotwo

• Assembly~<3
    • View Profile

Re: I'm still obsessed with ponies. C+C

Reply #1 on: April 17, 2011, 02:02:12 pm
Damn ponies >:C ... when is episode 24 comming out?
Anyways , very nice work , although the mouth part does kinda' looks too desaturated  ::)

Offline Dessa

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: April 17, 2011, 07:48:02 pm
I still prefer the lineart version, but I always get more positive feedback when I shade.  Maybe for viewers it crosses from "I could do that, if I spent the time" to "Wow, I'm not that good with pixels" which isn't meant to sound like a boast, because I look around here and I don't feel all that great with pixels, but I've also seen what the average non-pixel-person (or maybe the average one-man-game-maker) produces with pixels too and it's rarely pretty.

Offline HughSpectrum

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: April 17, 2011, 07:59:57 pm