AuthorTopic: [WIP] Creature with mask  (Read 8016 times)

Offline Sergiotron

• View Profile

[WIP] Creature with mask

on: April 15, 2011, 07:21:57 pm
Hi!
I'm very exited about post my first WIP here :)
I'm a noob in pixel art, and I'd love to recieve any feedback from you. Here's my first creature (or monster, or thing... I really don't know):

I tried to be aware about the number of colors I was using, and made a little palette in the left. I'm pretty sure there are 18 colors + the background.

Cheers from Colombia!

PD: Pixeljoint and Pixelation are AWESOME!
« Last Edit: April 15, 2011, 07:28:34 pm by Sergiotron »

Offline goosemonger

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] Creature with mask

Reply #1 on: April 17, 2011, 11:32:42 am
This guy is great! He reminds me of a Bile Demon from Dungeon Keeper.
The shadow shows that the light source is from directly above, so I think it could use some more highlights on the skin and some darker shading on the legs and feet.

Offline Sergiotron

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: April 17, 2011, 12:29:15 pm
thanks! I'll do that :)

Offline Dessa

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: April 17, 2011, 07:56:41 pm
You call yourself a noob, but this is better than noob quality.  The red feather bands up a bit.  Maybe disrupt one of those lines a bit ?   Or, if you're not planning to add any more colors, you could make blue or yellow the big feather, since they have an extra shade to play with.  Yellow is nice and 45-degrees so you might be able to get away with red there and not need to alias anything.

This is pretty good though.  How long did it take?

Offline Sergiotron

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: April 18, 2011, 01:16:44 pm
Thanks for your comment! It took me about one and a half hour. Would be great to know how long would be your time :) I want to compare my time with more experimented pixel artists.