AuthorTopic: Eye WIP  (Read 3354 times)

Offline Daimoth

• I Am Tooth
    • View Profile

Eye WIP

on: March 14, 2011, 04:39:56 am

Hey guys, newbie here.

I started pixelling yesterday, so this was my first attempt at all the basics: antialiasing, dithering, color pallets, all of it.

Anyways, I'm stuck at the fleshy-brow part. I know I want it to dither away to the background in the upper part, but I also want it to read more like a fleshy abomination than a Godzilla-esque reptilian thing. Any ideas?
« Last Edit: March 14, 2011, 09:48:30 am by Daimoth »

Offline Basketcase

• View Profile

Re: Eye WIP

Reply #1 on: March 14, 2011, 11:23:30 am
You used an unnecessarily large pallet. I reduced the colours down to 20, and I think you could halve that (counting visible colours by eye). I recommend the purples rather than greys (so I did that replacement).

Did some re-shading and dithering, to make it look smoother (with some rough blobs).

Also I removed the alpha transparency to make it easier to work with. Up to you if you want to keep it to make it blend into a website background... but I don't think that's often great for pixel art.
To do: ??? Cow made my lovely avatar.

Offline Daimoth

• I Am Tooth
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 14, 2011, 12:08:34 pm
I'm actually using it for a horror-themed video game I'm involved in. I wasn't sure whether or not to anti-alias considering the bottom eye line isn't a sharp curve.

As far as the pallet goes, I only have 16 colors on my pallet. I changed the opacity of a few pixels here and there during anti-aliasing, though, I'm assuming that counts as a separate color on a pallet?

Thank you so much for the tips.

Offline Basketcase

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: March 14, 2011, 02:11:08 pm
More than 16 colours are showing up for me: http://i53.tinypic.com/314cfg9.png
Some accidental colour-adding is likely. There's a barely visible faint outline around the eyelid, and a scribble in the middle top.