AuthorTopic: [WIP][C & C] Platformer character animation  (Read 3945 times)

Offline lopho

• View Profile
    • lopho.org

[WIP][C & C] Platformer character animation

on: March 05, 2011, 03:19:11 pm
hi there,
im currently working on a game, and got fed up with coding, so to get my head free i started on making some assets.
im still mostly without an art direction, but maybe itll develop into something soon.

anyways, im not very experienced in pixeling, only made some stuff once in a while.

:D here it comes:

main char (maybe) :

_

some basic mockup scene ( a bit overloaded) :

_ _ __ _

any suggestions on how to animate this hunk of a block (the character :p ), or how it might be interacting?
other feedback most welcome as well.

EDIT:  oh, yeah, it'll be 'kind of' a platformer.

======================================
Current Status:
_
« Last Edit: March 11, 2011, 11:52:37 am by lopho »

Offline TheChannel

• Sky Rockets in Flight, Afternoon Delight.
    • View Profile

Re: [WIP] Blocky type character C & C

Reply #1 on: March 05, 2011, 07:51:09 pm
Seeing as he is rectangular a box will be a great disguise.

Offline lopho

• View Profile
    • lopho.org

Reply #2 on: March 06, 2011, 12:38:15 pm
Update:
fixed the arm:

_

made some animations:

idle:

_

running:

_ _ __ _

i'm truly unhappy about how the legs move, it just looks...... weird, after a while.
currently running is only a 4 frame animation, thinking of doubling it to get something smoother.

@TheChannel
that box thing could fit quite nice, i think ill make a mockup with him hiding under a box or something.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2011, 03:01:24 pm by lopho »

Offline Seitilaer

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: March 06, 2011, 01:15:45 pm
Maybe you could change the background color to a slight orange tinge for a sunset scene because yellow looks too bland, IMO. Other than that, I think your character looks awesome and I love the up and down movements it make :D Good luck !

Offline Demian

• View Profile