AuthorTopic: [WIP] My First Sprite  (Read 6235 times)

Offline Shinobi

• View Profile

[WIP] My First Sprite

on: March 05, 2011, 08:21:34 pm
Hello folks,  I started drawing a sprite today, but I'm a little bit insecure about the lineart and body proportions. I'd like to know what you guys think of it:

I'm using Photoshop and a Wacom tablet.

EDIT 3/6/2011

I redrawed his legs, corrected the lineart to be 1px thick, corrected his far arm and made the sword a bit longer. Made him bald for now, since I must get some references for drawing his hair properly.

EDIT 3/9/2011

Did everything again from scratch, this time only the character's body. I'll draw the rest after doing the basics in the right way.

So, I decided to do it with the tablet. It's good because I'm training both pixel-art and drawing skills with it.

First I made a rough...erm, rough:

Then based on in I did a slightly more polished rough:

Then, finally, using the tip given by st0ven, sharpened the lineart and cleaned it to let it with 1px thickness. His "eyelashes", brows and mouth are still like that because I don't know what to do to give the proper weight to them.

Really not sure about the drawing style, I'm still working on that. What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance for the attention.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2011, 05:49:55 pm by Shinobi »

Offline Âme

• View Profile

Re: [WIP] My First Sprite

Reply #1 on: March 05, 2011, 08:43:27 pm
I like it so far but your line art should only be one pixel thick. like this

Also I think the sword should be abit longer and the lump by his right knee seems odd. His legs should probly be shorter and his torso longer by alittle bit. Also his head seems slightly too big. Mabey if you made his sholders a few pixels wider?

P.S. you dont have to add a zoomed image. Pixelation lets you click the image to zoom. :)

Offline Shinobi

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 05, 2011, 09:23:59 pm
Yeah, maybe his limbs are a little bit longer than needed  :P