AuthorTopic: First try... Just a head.  (Read 4257 times)

Offline jspsfx

• View Profile

First try... Just a head.

on: April 18, 2006, 02:24:28 am
Well, I'm getting a little bored with the digital art I've been doing over the years.

I've never tried pixel art before... So it's something fresh and new for me. I like being new at something, it's a challenge.

First things first, I suck at drawing. I've been trying to get good since i was a young child, I'm sixteen now. So, I doubt i'll get very far in the pixel art world. But, it's still fun to try.

I looked at a few tutorials and just gave it a shot... Here's my first pixel art attempt. Unfinished, probably unproportioned (I have no eye for that), and colored badly, oh well

Any lineart I can color? Cause I suck at drawing, I really do =|

critique welcome, I'm sure it would be a challenge to name everything I've done wrong... but, don't hold your opinion back, I'm new to pixel art, not new to critique ;)
« Last Edit: April 18, 2006, 02:26:02 am by jspsfx »

Offline EyeCraft

• What are you scared of?
    • View Profile
    • Death By Dev

Re: First try... Just a head.

Reply #1 on: April 18, 2006, 03:14:51 am
Hi there jspsfx, welcome to pixel art.

Lineart: http://www.wayofthepixel.net/pixelation/index.php?topic=499.0

As for your piece, it's really not bad. The dithering is probably unnecessary, try using solid blocks of colour with a couple more colours. But I seem to always say that. ;)

Offline jspsfx

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: April 18, 2006, 11:39:11 pm
Thanks =)...

here's my second try

I'm getting a better feel for what to do, I'm still strugging though

Thanks for the nice lineart Blink!

Offline Tremulant

• Enfant Terrible
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: April 18, 2006, 11:59:47 pm
Wow, that's a lot of improvement.
I think you could up the contrast on the hair a bit, and probably reduce the colour count, but otherwise.. yeah.
Very nice :)

Offline lief

• View Profile