AuthorTopic: [WIP] 2fort  (Read 5465 times)

Offline Finoli

• View Profile

[WIP] 2fort

on: December 16, 2010, 01:16:11 pm
Heya  :lol:

I recently got interested in isometric pixel art and this is my first attempt at anything serious

This isn't nearly finished  :P

tell me what you think and tell me if I did anything wrong :)
the concept comes from a map from the game Team Fortress 2
Cya!

Offline sakket

• poop'n
    • View Profile
    • my yootoob

Re: [WIP] 2fort

Reply #1 on: December 16, 2010, 04:51:36 pm
yeesh, thought this was a 3d model, and was planning on directing you to the low-poly boards.

I wonder if making this in sketchup would have been faster..
littleroller.blogspot.com

Offline Finoli

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: December 18, 2010, 03:53:00 pm
Dunno, but I have been working a lot more on it and here's what it looks like atm

Tell me what you think  ;D

Offline BwdYeti

• Emo Halb + Emocar = :|
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: December 18, 2010, 06:26:27 pm
The brick pattern should probably switch between wall faces

What're you planning to do for the RED base? Is it going to obscure some of the center of the map?

Offline Finoli

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: December 18, 2010, 10:16:50 pm
Yeah, I don't see any other way to do it. It probably won't obscure that much of it, and if it covers too many details on some part I'll just make the building that is obscuring it a tiny bit shorter.
How would you do it?   ???
And about the brick part, I did keep that in mind, just turned out wrong I see :sigh:

Offline Gromit

• View Profile

Reply #5 on: December 19, 2010, 02:00:43 pm
I'm really liking this and I hope you add the characters in there too when you're done too.

I'm really not a fan of the dithering. You might be better just using solid colours to use for your shading as opposed to dithering. I'd look at other iso art and see how certain shapes and highlights are commonly approached.