AuthorTopic: Best Pixeling Software  (Read 7203 times)

Offline HappyFuntime

• Happy Funtime Games -- happyfuntimegames.com
    • View Profile
    • happyfuntimegames.com

Best Pixeling Software

on: November 16, 2010, 03:00:35 am
Hi Pixelation,

I'm new to pixelling, and wanted to get the community's feedback on what tools I should be using. What do you guys (and gals) think is currently the best software for making pixel art? I want to make animations so animation support is a must, preferably with onion skins. Sorry if this topic was already discussed elsewhere, but I'm interested in hearing people's current favorites, hopefully you can point me in the right direction.

(I was using Graphics Gale for the trial period, but its lack of support for copy/pasting color hex codes kind of put me off.)
Thanks

Offline Ai

• finti
    • http://pixeljoint.com/pixels/profile.asp?id=1996
    • finticemo
    • View Profile

Re: Best Pixeling Software

Reply #1 on: November 16, 2010, 04:20:00 am
http://www.wayofthepixel.net/pixelation/index.php?topic=3467.0

Your requirements point at ProMotion.
For animation thumbnailing etc there are other things like KToon and Synfig-Studio,
and I personally like MyPaint to draw individual frames/using layers to get a sorta-onionskin effect (there are pixel brushes in the Experimental category of brushes).

Grafx2 supports color-cycling, if you need it; (but not animation).
If you insist on being pessimistic about your own abilities, consider also being pessimistic about the accuracy of that pessimistic judgement.

Offline Elk

• Choice Architect & Nudger
    • elkdarkshire
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/4683.htm
    • darkshire
    • darkshire.elk
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: November 16, 2010, 07:02:10 am
I think Photoshop is pretty up to par aswell :) I love it's hotkeys and everything...but since I do alot more than just PJ like CG and other stuff, it comes handy in total.
Open for business
elkdarkshire@gmail.com
Elk#2299