AuthorTopic: Game Tileset  (Read 3386 times)

Offline Stealth

• View Profile

Game Tileset

on: September 11, 2010, 08:12:43 am
Hey Everyone!

This is my first post here, was referred by a friend and have been looking around for a bit. Seems like a really nice userbase and good critiques without shooting the person to smithereens too much. :D

I'm doing a Bachelor of Games Design at Uni, currently first year. For our current programming assignment we need to make a game that has three levels in it.

For some reason; three weeks before the thing is due (also before i've actually nailed down any gameplay code) I decided to make the tiles for my game as pixel art~!

I'm happy to admit I am not much chop as an artist; and this is the first time I've ever tried anything pixel-art-esque.

I was wondering if you have any hints/tips/pointers on how I can improve these tiles and my pixelart in general, as I actually had a lot of fun doing it!  ;D

Hope you guys can help. Would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: September 11, 2010, 09:05:37 am by Stealth »

Offline Demon11777

• View Profile

Re: Game Tileset

Reply #1 on: September 11, 2010, 08:23:57 am
can you save it as a png and re-upload ? It's kinda hard to give a critique if you save it in a format that fuzzies up the pixels  ;)
Row Row Fight The Powah!

Offline Stealth

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: September 11, 2010, 08:36:16 am
Darn it. Knew i'd do something wrong. On my way to uni, half an hour and shall re-upload!! :D

Offline Stealth

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: September 11, 2010, 09:05:52 am
Done!! :D

Offline Lukkas

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: September 27, 2010, 09:09:30 am
Pretty neat looking :)

There's two main things you can do to improve this.

One: texture, texture, texture! Your grass is a solid green. This isn't actually a horrible choice for such small graphics, but you can drastically improve it by putting little sprigs of grass here and there. Same goes for your floor tiles.