AuthorTopic: [WIP]First Ever 8 state walk animation(first time using base this big too.)  (Read 7128 times)

Offline e4r

• View Profile
Anyways, this is my first time making a walking state with 8 states. I usually use 32 x 32 bases, and amke 4. So I'm new to this "smooth walking" stuff for bigger bases. Any crits would be appreciated.

Here it is:

Offline buddy90

• View Profile
The biggest problem is that character keeps jumping around a few pixels every frame. Make sure he's in the same position every frame or it's not going to look good.

The legs seem to be fine, just make his left leg darker so we know we can differentiate between the legs.

The arms are way too long and the animation does not match the legs.

Offline e4r

• View Profile
alright, i edited it, it looks way better to me. anymore Crits please?

Edit:

I still don't think I got the bounce right. >_>

Also, anyone got any south walking guide, south as in you can see the whole body.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2010, 03:26:08 am by e4r »

Offline Demon11777

• View Profile
When the right arm is fully retracted the shoulder changes color slightly, it's rather distracting.
Row Row Fight The Powah!

Offline e4r

• View Profile
Alright, I fixed it I think. More crits?

Edit:

Offline NaCl

• When it rains it pours
    • View Profile
Here is my best advice: don't try and add moving arms and legs onto a static torso. Walking is an action that involves the entire body, and to get the best out of your animation you should draw every frame by itself. This involves twisting the torso, shoulders and pelvis. Don't need to make it extreme, but it does need to exist. Just think of seeing part of the back when his close arm is forward, and seeing part of his front when his closer arm is back.

As for the bounce, try a nice sine wave, so the head is constantly moving smoothly up and down.

Offline e4r

• View Profile