AuthorTopic: Clowning Around  (Read 4028 times)

Offline Haunted-House

• View Profile

Clowning Around

on: July 17, 2010, 08:19:19 pm
Hey guys, I'm not very experienced with the ways of pixel art and I would like some c&c to improve this clown sprite I've been working on.

Offline pixelrox

• View Profile

Re: Clowning Around

Reply #1 on: July 18, 2010, 12:27:28 am
The clown stands out. Clowns should be colorful. I think it's just right. Any more pixeling might be too much dithering. However, there might be some room for some shading.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2010, 12:29:57 am by pixelrox »

Offline WM

• cubist
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: July 18, 2010, 03:01:53 am
I would like to see the shading on the blue portion of the costume to be darkened and shifted more towards a purple. I would also like to see some more purple worked into the red shade.

The hand pointed towards the viewer needs to be defined a little more: try moving the shading under the hand and sharpening it, and separating the thumb from the rest of the hand with a little bit of shading around it.

I like it so far :)

Offline Haunted-House

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: July 18, 2010, 03:50:58 pm
Thanks for the input. I've tweaked the colors and shading and I think it's a good improvement!
Considering he is meant to be used on a blue and red tent BG the purple tint was an especially good call.

« Last Edit: July 18, 2010, 04:23:37 pm by Haunted-House »

Offline pixelrox

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: July 18, 2010, 06:13:43 pm
It's better. The purple tint helps. I agree with the comment about the hand also. At the least try to see the left hand with the darker half being the lower half instead of the upper. Even if you define the thumb. The position right now is more like what you would see in a spoon. :y: ;D :n: