AuthorTopic: [WIP] Run-n-gun game sprites UPDATED 8/18  (Read 18461 times)

Offline Rybar

• Pixels are yummy.
    • View Profile

[WIP] Run-n-gun game sprites UPDATED 8/18

on: June 12, 2010, 04:38:36 am
Current WIP:

----------------
ORIGINAL POST:

Working on sprites for a game for which I'm also a developer for; looking to the pros here for some initial critiques before I attempt any animation... which brings me to a few questions about spriter's methods..

When creating an animated sprite, do you move from finished frame to finished frame, or do you start rough and add details later?

When working out the motion do you pixel finished extremes and then go back and do in-betweens?

I know theres no 'right' way, just interested in what artists here have found to be most efficient.

--------------------------------
OLD STUFF:

7/10 resolution change, first draft

----------------

8/15 In which I scrap the whole thing because I hate it, admit that doubling the resolution was a bad idea, and start over with a completely different style of sprite:

8/17 Idle animation

8/18 firing animation

« Last Edit: August 18, 2010, 06:00:32 am by Rybar »

Offline bengo

• https://pixeljoint.com/p/5787.htm
    • View Profile

Re: Run n Gun game sprite WIP

Reply #1 on: June 12, 2010, 08:19:53 am
I like your style Rybar, yearning to learn, wanting to get things right, if you really wanna tackle animation, its pretty tough to do, I highly, highly suggest you pick up The Animators Survival Kit by Richard Williams. There's gonna be quite a bit to learn but I can tell you in the end it should be worth it (speaking of animation, I should probably starting reading that book more myself and doing more animated pieces :-\). Anyway as for the initial sprite, it reminds me a lot of Out of This World or Flashback, I'm likin it, but I've tried to address a few issues as seen here in this edit: