AuthorTopic: [wip][C&C]Woman's Face  (Read 4662 times)

Offline coreyh2

• View Profile

[wip][C&C]Woman's Face

on: May 20, 2010, 08:45:24 am
I'm just beginning to learn pixel art. The style I want to learn is low resolution/color comic book style. I don't want to use any dithering. Technically I can use up to 256 colors but I'm trying to stick to 16 for the moment just to see how much is possible.

I'm interested in how to draw better eyes, mouths and general face shading. I haven't really figured out how to do hair so don't critique that.

Offline Kcilc

• View Profile

Re: [wip][C&C]Woman's Face

Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 03:51:42 pm
Welcome to Pixelation!  :)

Well, this is definitely not low-res, and I don't think it would be all that beneficial to try to learn how to draw better faces when you're trying to keep yourself locked into a comic-book style. What comic-book artists do is take a real face, find the parts that really need to be there, and simplify simplify simplify. They do know how to draw a normal face though. The best advice I can give you is to study study study.

Also, at this size, pixel art starts out a whole ton like a painting. You wanna find a big brush, and get the basic planes down before moving into things like wrinkles on the lips, and eyelashes. Those come after the face is 85% drawn.

Oh, and I take it the light source is supposed to be from the upper left because of your shading; her pupils wouldn't be lit up quite so much if that was the case, and her irises would be taking most of the light.

Here's a quick dirty edit:

It's not much of a sight, but maybe it'll help you out somehow.