AuthorTopic: Palette  (Read 17321 times)

Offline talin

• View Profile

Palette

on: March 11, 2010, 06:37:38 pm
Hello. I just started pixelling, and I'm wondering if there's some place where I can use palettes from?
I'm not sure if it's a good idea to just use someone else's palette without their permission... What is the
common etiquette here? Everything I make looks ugly, since I'm a beginner, but also because I have
problems finding the right colors. With a bit of help with that, I think I can find more motivation.

Offline blumunkee

• View Profile

Re: Palette

Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 06:44:28 pm
Most artists will probably be fine with you using their palette AS LONG AS YOU GIVE THEM CREDIT, heh. Off the top of my head I can recommend the C64 palette and Arne's palette.

Offline talin

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 06:52:37 pm
Great! I will give that second one a try.

I am currently using Grafx2... but eventually I'll have to animate stuff if I want to make games...
so I'm wondering if there's anything simple and similar to Grafx2 that supports animation?

Offline blumunkee

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: March 11, 2010, 08:05:32 pm

Offline xhunterko

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: March 30, 2010, 06:24:06 pm
Um, what? This is an area of pixel art, and art in general, that i have to step up and DISAGREE!

Why?

On every computer that's ever made, does arne own color 199, 134, 162?
On every pixeling of a flower, does so and so own colors 187, 356, 234 and 155, 256, 121?

No.

So an artist sees a particular game and uses it's palette. He makes some work with same palette. A crit says, nice, but it uses such in such palette so its not his own work. Or it uses this person's palette so it's not his own work. Or it uses this games palette so it's not his own work.

What?