AuthorTopic: [WIP] Avatar  (Read 4945 times)

Offline freespyryt

• View Profile

[WIP] Avatar

on: March 11, 2010, 03:37:35 am
Sooo this is most DEFINITELY a work in progress. I'm going from a hand drawn picture (which i'll post as soon as I get to a scanner) and I'm just trying to make a girl wearing a hoodie. This is totally a new style for me (well, any is really since I'm new to this whole thing) so I need some input. Her nose is the main thing I'm not very happy with on the face..and the lips I guess too. Also, the shading on the sweatshirt...I'm not sure how to do it without it looking like embroidery. Just generally any advice would be extremely useful. Thanks so much!

EDIT:
Latest:
« Last Edit: March 12, 2010, 05:39:16 am by freespyryt »

Offline bengo

• https://pixeljoint.com/p/5787.htm
    • View Profile

Re: [WIP] Avatar

Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 12:05:02 pm
I think you need to refer back to your old thread and look at the edits there. This piece is missing everything your other one has, which means when you saw the edits you didn't really think of the grounds that were built on them, just went 'okay' and copied (not LITERALLY). I suggest you learn the fundamentals of art, this is missing form among other things. I suggest looking for the e-book by Andrew Loomis, Fun With A Pencil and I also suggest picking up pencil and paper and drawing from life.

Offline freespyryt

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 08:54:14 pm
UPDATE!
Okay so I realize my last one essentially looked awful, so I edited it a bunch. I did try to use my old thread as guidance for this. I'm much better on pencil and paper than I am with pixel art, so transferring the idea from paper to pixels was much harder than I'd considered it would be. So..
Update:
I worked a lot on shading and changing the hair shape..although I'm not totally satisfied with the shading of the shirt.
Any further critique would be much appreciated!