AuthorTopic: Burned Grass  (Read 16259 times)

Offline Jorund

• View Profile

Burned Grass

on: March 08, 2010, 05:15:01 pm
I have to make a burned grass tile for a friends game (128x128), since he needs it soon, I'm not going to work with pure pixel (I'm still learning).
He told me: "I need black burned grass" So I search some images in google:
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/3392/copyof13072resize.jpg
http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/7803/copyof1820534ee639a9abr.jpg
http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/9897/copyof6262541550x550mba.jpg
http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/9110/copyofburnedgrass1resiz.jpg
http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/6262/copyofprairiegrassresiz.jpg

This is what I got for the moment:

I don't know I thinks is waaaaaaaay too dark, but the one that he showed me (and wanted redone because it was an edit from another game), was also really dark.

I don't know how to make it better. Its just a noise effect with some tweaking and texture.

Any help will be much appreciated  :)
« Last Edit: April 07, 2010, 02:28:27 pm by Jorund »

Offline Lizzrd

• View Profile

Re: Burned Grass

Reply #1 on: March 08, 2010, 07:13:41 pm
Have it more in clusters with black soil showing between.
Photocopier: the fact that arne can also code so well
Photocopier: is horrificly unfair

Offline Jad

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 11:43:25 pm
remove the green, it's not needed - just keep it black with the grass displayed as ashy gray strands and possibly add some green tint in some of the value ranges.

That's all I've got for now!
' _ '

Offline Jorund

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: March 12, 2010, 01:28:09 pm
I completly changed it. No black. At least not that much. I'm gonna use black/brown for the path and other details.
Here's the new version. Its more of a grass ashes tile. Made it with some grass photo, and some tweaking and some brushes:

It tiles pretty well:
http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/75/75677324yth.gif