Critique > Pixel Art

I'd like some feedback on a grass tile.

(1/2) > >>

ShakaRule:
Hello

I'm trying to make some pixel art. Im not an artist, i cant draw at all. But I'd like to learn.
I've got 2 tiles made right now.
32x32:

16x16:

16x16 in a grid(3x3):

32x32 in a grid(3x3):

This is my first ever pixelart. Im open to any feedback :) Especially the bad things :)

Thanks
ShakaRule

Curly:
Well the first one is just randomly placed pixels. Try to avoid that.

The second one is way better. There's less noise and you can see some purpose in the placement of the pixels. Still a bit random but there's some meaning.
Look for tilesets from games you like or just google "16x16 grass tile" and you will find lots of references and ideas.

Chonky Pixel:
If you post images at the original size (not scaled up) then we can made edits to demonstrate points. We can also expand them ourselves by clicking on them.

What kind of game are you making these tiles for? What perspective will in have? Seen from directly above? Isometric? Etc. If you want to make great grass tiles, that will have an impact.

Also, is there a style of pixel art you want to go for? Can you provide examples of games that have a similar style?

I agree with Curly's comments, but we can do a lot better.

Mekeninzo: