AuthorTopic: Sprite, Portrait and Stat Screen.  (Read 3742 times)

Offline StelloHexis

• View Profile

Sprite, Portrait and Stat Screen.

on: June 17, 2017, 10:51:12 pm
Overworld Sprite:

Portrait:

Stat Screen/Menu:

Offline hexcode

• I'm a Full-time Pixel Artist for hire!
    • @joseph_silipo
    • mrsilipo
    • View Profile
    • Joseph Silipo's Portfolio

Re: Sprite, Portrait and Stat Screen.

Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 01:00:07 am
Looks really cool,
I'd even out the spacial padding around the text, It will help make the presentation look cleaner.
Maybe add different colors for the stats vs the stat names?
Twitter @joseph_silipo
AVAILABLE FOR HIRE
I'm dedicating my life to become an amazing pixel artist.

Offline Impossible Realms

• ImpossibleRealm
    • GravityGames
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: June 18, 2017, 02:01:58 am
Minus the "PlayerL100" across the top, I'd actually disagree, the tight spacing and consistent character size really gives off a nostalgic NES vibe, which I presume was the intention here. As for the art itself, I feel like the Overworld sprite may be a bit too small (could be just me though), but still really well made, I'd try adding the darker blue to the helmet as well to provide some shading like on the rest of the armor, but I didn't bother to check each 8x8 tile to see if that'd break NES limitations or not.

The portrait, on the other hand, I really love! I don't see much wrong with it, and it looks really nice especially for the era being emulated here. If I had to say something to be improved, I'd say it'd be the shading on the body. Humorously the opposite of the overworld sprite, the helmet in the profile has some really nice shading, but the rest is just a flat blue. However, given the NES style, I'd say it's an optional thing, and looks just fine as is, already appearing to be something you'd actually see in a mid to late era NES game!

Offline Schwee

• SchweeDubulus
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio