AuthorTopic: Beginner looking for feedback  (Read 262 times)

Offline Michoko

• View Profile

Beginner looking for feedback

on: June 13, 2017, 12:08:37 pm
Hi,

I'm a total beginner regarding pixel art (I'm a long-time developer), but I'd love to create an indie game, so I started learning. Needless to say my first steps were a bit frustrating, and I'd feel less alone if some kind soul would help me improve my work. :)

Actually, besides learning pure pixel art techniques, I have another challenge: character design. I know exactly what kind of story I want to tell, and my hero will be a native precolumbian-like hero. He is pretty young, so I don't want to add too much accessories to his character (i.e. no big assets / jewels like for an Aztec King, for example). But since natives are almost naked, it is difficult to make the character stand out.

I made two versions. A "modern" pixel art style one:

And a silhouette-oriented one: (I'd actually love to make a highly contrasted, silhouette-based design for the entire game)

I don't know exactly what to think about those two first attempts, so any feedback / constructive criticism would be very appreciated.

Thank you in advance! :)

Offline LoreSmyth

• View Profile

Re: Beginner looking for feedback

Reply #1 on: June 13, 2017, 12:19:31 pm
Hey

Lovely stuff. I am totally new myself so I won't try and give feedback.
I do like the pose of the bottom one with the staff upwards better. It feels more "active"
I think you have a good base to work on! Maybe you can use some lighter pastel colors to give more "aztec/warm" feeling.
Right now its pretty dark/towards black, leaving little detail to show?

Offline Michoko

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: June 15, 2017, 08:23:46 am