AuthorTopic: Twin Stick Attack Animations  (Read 1997 times)

Offline rogueDev

• View Profile

Twin Stick Attack Animations

on: May 20, 2017, 10:06:29 am
Hi guys, first of I'm primarily a developer so forgive my ignorance.

I'm developing a prototype for a rogue-like "twin stick shooter" game where the player can control a variety of characters each with different attack styles.

I'm very confused as to how I would create an animation sheet that would allow for smooth attack animations in every direction - 360 degrees rotation.

The player should be able to point the right stick at any angle and the sprite should attack in that direction.

Example - Hyper Light Drifter
I'm sure we are all aware of how nice the animations in HLD are - but we can use that as an example. If anyone could explain to me how the animations are done in that game it would pretty much answer my questions.
  • Rougly what would the sprite sheet look like (how many frames etc.)
  • How many directions would the attack animation have to be drawn in?

Thanks very much to anyone who can help.

Offline CFKaligula

• View Profile
    • My Tumblr

Re: Twin Stick Attack Animations

Reply #1 on: May 20, 2017, 06:21:07 pm
I couldn't find much examples from HLD, but assuming that it's just a normal top down game, that means you have to animate an attack in 3 perspectives, from the front, back and the side. If the attack is asymmetric you will have to make a 2 side animations, for example when a sword is in your left hand.

How many frames something has is really not set. That totally depends on how many frames are required and how many the dev actually wants. Since more frames = smoother animation (this doesn't mean more frames is always better).

For your 360 degree rotation you should rotate the sprite of the weapon by code, probably. Maybe look at Enter the Gungeon and Nuclear Throne for how they do that.
You get in the bowl

Offline 32

• @AngusDoolan
    • http://pixeljoint.com/p/19827.htm