AuthorTopic: Digital Painting within a style  (Read 5143 times)

Offline floralfatigue

• Addicted to drawing.
    • charlie.cmart
    • charliemartinson.tumblr.com
    • View Profile

Digital Painting within a style

on: March 20, 2017, 11:40:16 am
Hi all, This is my first time posting art on an online forum as I recently got into 'digital painting'. The medium is quite new for me as I am used to tradition media, and just finished making a lot of abstract art.

Basically what I'm trying to do is to gain skill in painting all kinds of material, textures etc... and the final goal is to be able to do so in my style (expressionist/lots of colours etc) but i'm coming up against a block as the kind of ' gestural' approach doesn't really work on digital media.

This one is quite realistic but it took REALLY long - which wouldn't be a problem except I found my self overworking

or has a gestural feel but then the brush strokes are way to visible for my liking (another example below).

Can anyone possibly give some suggestions as to exercises / approaches to creating an image that is efficient?

It might help to mention that I try focus on negative space when creating the image as I have a background in life drawing... this helps a bit when drawing from life but not so much from an image as I find myself having to go back and fix colour, but then messing up form etc.

All help is appreciated!

Traditional artist venturing into the realm of the digital.

Offline eishiya

• http://pixeljoint.com/p/28889.htm
    • View Profile
    • Website

Re: Digital Painting within a style

Reply #1 on: March 20, 2017, 12:21:47 pm
I think this kind of style works just fine digitally, you just need to find the appropriate tools for it. I don't know your technique for it in traditional media, but you may need to adjust it for digital painting - the two are different media, afterall. It might've helped to post an example of your traditional work so people could know what you're going for.