AuthorTopic: [C+C] I'm new to this, but would love some feedback  (Read 2973 times)

Offline Pixel_Snail

• View Profile

[C+C] I'm new to this, but would love some feedback

on: February 06, 2017, 02:19:02 pm
Hey there pixelation community :) I've just started doing pixel art (literally in the last week and a half) and would love to have some feedback on my latest attempt.

Offline rocifier

• View Profile

Re: [C+C] I'm new to this, but would love some feedback

Reply #1 on: February 07, 2017, 09:23:49 am
Hey this is really good for starting out. Some easy improvement might be:

- instead of black outline use a dark grey, as it's contrasting very strongly
- increase the contrast on the gun. you have a couple of greys that are very similar and a couple of browns that are very similar. I'd make them more different in value (darkness).

The silhouette of the gun is very good and it is reading clearly and accurately. Your main focus should be improving the form inside the outline - getting the shapes to read well. To do this you will need to do research into lighting / light sources and clearly pick a light direction for the piece.

Offline Pixel_Snail

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: February 09, 2017, 06:17:15 pm
Hey this is really good for starting out. Some easy improvement might be:

- instead of black outline use a dark grey, as it's contrasting very strongly
- increase the contrast on the gun. you have a couple of greys that are very similar and a couple of browns that are very similar. I'd make them more different in value (darkness).

The silhouette of the gun is very good and it is reading clearly and accurately. Your main focus should be improving the form inside the outline - getting the shapes to read well. To do this you will need to do research into lighting / light sources and clearly pick a light direction for the piece.