AuthorTopic: Run Animation (Turned View) C+C  (Read 3657 times)

Offline Sharper333

• View Profile

Run Animation (Turned View) C+C

on: December 13, 2016, 01:48:47 am

Looking to get some critique on this bit of work I'm doing. I'm just trying to set a base for future animations of the same style. I feel as though the shape of the legs on a few frames lose volume, but I'm having a difficult time adding anything back and keep the same visual.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Offline Ashedragon

• View Profile

Re: Run Animation (Turned View) C+C

Reply #1 on: December 13, 2016, 03:00:50 am
I'm still pretty new to animation myself, so while I can't offer a lot of critique, I can say that the pacing, the framerate, makes it seem more like an eccentric walk or a jog than a run. It's very slow and deliberate. You might want to play around with removing some frames and exaggerating the poses. Maybe find a good reference to latch onto?

Offline Achrileg

• Achrileg
    • View Profile

Reply #2 on: December 13, 2016, 04:26:54 am
While I'm rather new to the forum, I think I'm decent at animation and I'd like to be helpful.

So, from what I see, you should exaggerate the movement of the character more - build up anticipation then ease out of movements. Motion isn't uniform, and the speed of any movement is rarely equally quick through out.

Here's how I'd go about improving your animation, step by step.

But first thing's first, I personally think that animating both run cycle sides is tedious and might look janky. Don't draw out the front and back already, draw the for, the silhouette of the character, it's a lot easier to keep track of the characters motions and inconsistencies.

So, I colored it all one color, and removed 6 out of 11 frames, so it's now a 5 frame loop, without a distinguishable front/ back side of the character. The little pip under the foot just helps me understand the motion a lot better and judge the best way to loop.