AuthorTopic: Drawing a pixel spruce  (Read 3591 times)

Offline BadBorsch

• View Profile

Drawing a pixel spruce

on: April 30, 2016, 02:31:06 am
Hello everybody. I am a junior game developer, and i also cpmpletely noob in drawing. I trying to build a pixel spruces for my game, but i have troubles with shading, and i don't know how to draw it better. If you give me an advice, I would be very thankful to you.
Sorry for my bad English ^_^
« Last Edit: April 30, 2016, 02:53:35 am by BadBorsch »

Offline tsej

• View Profile
    • Art and Code

Re: Drawing a pixel spruce

Reply #1 on: April 30, 2016, 02:53:15 am
Welcome!  :)
I suggest reading http://pixelation.org/pixelation/index.php?topic=4265.msg53086#msg53086
Use direct link to your images. I'd suggest using imgur.

Correct me if I'm wrong

Offline BadBorsch

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: April 30, 2016, 02:57:08 am
Thanks a lot!

Offline Crow

• Technicanimal
    • View Profile

Reply #3 on: April 30, 2016, 07:13:07 am
Moved to the appropriate section. Make sure to read the rules. Welcome to Pixelation! :)
Discord: Ennea#9999

Offline Glak

• View Profile

Reply #4 on: May 02, 2016, 04:01:02 am
I think that it would benefit from more contrasting colors.  Also, are you working from a reference?  Most spruces have a rougher silhouette.

Offline Arne

• Panties.
    • View Profile
    • AndroidArts

Reply #5 on: May 04, 2016, 03:03:47 am
Here's a few things to think about.

What's the mood and color of your scene? Movies for example, often use teal and orange palettes nowadays. The advantage of palettes is that it forces the look to be consistent. If you have trouble coming up with a palette, you can grab a photo or a few stills from a movie, then index those and try to make something with the resulting palette.