AuthorTopic: Walk animation on fire!  (Read 2748 times)

Offline Smaex

• View Profile

Walk animation on fire!

on: December 02, 2015, 01:14:52 am
Hey guys,
i just finished the scratch of my new characters walk animation. It's going to be a character for a video game so other animations will follow. What do you think about it? Any tips to improve it? I don't like the flames yet..i'm not very good at hair animation or something like this. Cheers  :y:

Offline Neophos

• View Profile

Re: Walk animation on fire!

Reply #1 on: December 02, 2015, 12:38:03 pm
The head-bobbing is uneven, he goes down more on one leg than the other, which makes his run look like a weird kind of gallop instead of running.

The fire also reads badly - It's just noise on his head. Maybe try to create more forms in the flames, so that it's a few licks of fire instead? Also, possibly add some particles from the head that trails after him. If you watch clips of fire, like https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGbodsAV03M, you'll see that fire moves in clumps, and once they separate from the main fire, they live on for a bit. Try to get that sort of "life" into your animation!

Offline Smaex

• View Profile

Reply #2 on: December 02, 2015, 05:15:49 pm
Thank you, you're absolutely right. I've added a little head bobbing and changed the legs a bit so he doesn't run like a horse anymore  :lol: I think the running looks way better now but the flames..oh my god. It's impossible  ??? Maybe it looks a bit better than before but it's not even close to look like fire  :-X

Offline Shipright

• View Profile

Reply #3 on: December 03, 2015, 06:17:49 am
The fire isn't looping, you need to work on something that runs continuously without a stutter.