AuthorTopic: Books and tutorials specific to animation?  (Read 5492 times)

Offline Johasu

• @johasu232
    • Johasu232
    • View Profile

Books and tutorials specific to animation?

on: April 23, 2014, 11:54:11 pm
I have been working on colors, backgrounds, and form for about 6 months now and am starting to feel a real lack of development in my animation ability. It is going to be my new target for the next few months until I feel more adequate in that region.
My own preference for learning is to do a ton of front end research before I get my feet wet.  A sort of gathering of raw materials for me to sift through as I develop an understanding of style and technique.  While I prefer pixel art as my medium of choice, I don't mind if the research material is focused on illustrations.  3D isn't really something I am ready to take a look at, currently so I would ask that you don't go too heavily into that realm unless you feel it would be of solid use in my current focus.

Things that I could imagine being useful are materials on the number of frames to use for animations with large and small sprites.
Methodology for different types of animation.
Particle effects
Frames per second considerations for video and video game quality.
Tools and tips for creating animations.

Direct Query:
1)  Are there any books that the community would recommend?  I am looking for materials that really struck you with potent content that altered the way you approached animating.  From basic to expert level is fine either way.  I am a quick study.

2)  Are there any specific tutorials anyone knows of within this forum or out in the ether which are useful?

3) Youtube(or similar service) tutorials or livestreamings that take place where I could soak up quality animation knowledge?

4) Other choice commercial materials such as dvd's or actual textbooks that are of real quality as well?

Thanks in advance for the info dump guys and gals.  I really appreciate the assist on this.   ;D