AuthorTopic: Kinda New To Pixel Art  (Read 3698 times)

Offline Sourkeys

• View Profile

Kinda New To Pixel Art

on: November 01, 2010, 07:52:31 am
Hey, I'm a newbie to these forums. I thought I'd join up seeing as I've been developing pixel art for, I'd say, about a year now, on and off, as a hobby. I never shared my art with anyone outside of Facebook because the art that I drew actually represented real people. Some of my friends enjoyed my drawings of them and so that gave me a reason to do more, but now I'm actually getting a bit more serious about doing it because I've been studying programming in college and I just finished my 4th semester, which introduced me to game development and design. I made a platforming game with basic pixelated drawings, a little bit of which I ripped off an existing game at the time, and I decided that it might be interesting to combine my two efforts together to see what I can make of it. I've always been a HUGE fan of classic NES/SNES RPGs too so it makes the process even more entertaining as well as potentially profitable.

Here's what I made so far. From left to right is the oldest to newest work. Everything, to me, is still technically a WIP because I'm cursed with the whole perfectionist OCD dealio and I can ALWAYS find flaw. What makes that worse is that I've only had a couple high school art classes so I don't really know too much about shading. I still have to do some reading to brush up my knowledge and skills in that area.